Posted on

Pride and Prejudice information from the Jane Austen Centre

2005 pride and PrejudicePride and Prejudice Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen, was first published in 1813. She began writing it in 1796 under the title First Impressions. Pride and Prejudice is the story of the Bennet family and their five unmarried daughters, Jane Elizabeth, Mary, Kitty and Lydia. Mr. Bennet’s estate is entailed away to a distant cousin of the family, so the only chance of making sure his daughters are taken care of is for them to marry well. When handsome and wealthy Mr. Bingley and Mr. Darcy arrive in the neighbourhood, Mrs. Bennet believes their troubles to be over. Mr. Bingley is found to be an exceptionally agreeable man, but Mr. Darcy is revealed to be a very proud disagreeable fellow. Elizabeth Bennet is particularly warm in her dislike of him, but finds herself increasingly becoming the object of Mr. Darcy’s attention. At the same time Elizabeth’s elder sister Jane falls for good natured Mr. Bingley. Tendencies to prejudice, folly, pride, and a terrible scandal step in the way of the sisters achieving happiness but in the end all behaviour is explained and forgiveness granted. Love prevails and Elizabeth and Jane find their felicity. More information about Jane Austen’s novels The recent film adaptations of Pride and Prejudice in include the famous five hour BBC production starring Colin Firth and Jennifer Ehle and the Andrew Davis directed 2005 production starring Keira Knightly and Matthew Macfadyen. There is also the modern twist, Bridget Jones’s Diary based on the book by Helen

Want to read the full article?

Sign up for free Jane Austen Membership or if you are an existing user please login

Existing Users Log In
Sign up here to become a Jane Austen member
*Required field

Comments are closed.